Bass Coast Series homepage







Race start (1.2km at McKenzie Rd, 600m Cowes forshore) time 10:00am

Marshall at start by 15min before race time

Race Centre (North Pier hotel) opens at 7:30am. Register and pick up your Race Pack by 9:30am.

Presentations at the North Pier hotel at 11:30am.

A fun introduction to open swimming events. Two swim lengths are available; both distances are tide assisted in the open waters of Westernport Bay. The premier event is 1.2km. The 600m Fun Swim starts closer to Cowes, with both swims finishing at the Cowes foreshore inside the pier.

Minimum competitor age is 12 years on the day of the event.


Online before 5pm the day before

Adult $50       Junior $30

Cowes Classic combo entry $8 0


At race centre on the day

Adult $60       Junior $35

Cowes Classic combo entry $100

Prices are the same for 600m and 1.2km swims. Cowes Classic combo entry only available with 1.2km swim. Prices include GST,  online entries are strongly encouraged and are open to 5pm the day before event. Payment method for online entries is credit or debit card. If you do not have a credit or debit card, Australia Post provides a prepaid card service, please visit your nearest Post Office for details. Minimum competitor age is 12 years on the day of the event. If purchasing a combo entry, minimum competitor age for Cowes Classic is 17 years on the day of the event



1.2km swim

JM  Junior male   12 – 17

JF   Junior female   12 – 17

OM   Open male   18 – 29

OF   Open female   18 – 29

SM   Senior male   30 – 39

SF   Senior female   30 – 39

MM   Mature male   40 – 49

MF   Mature female   40 – 49

VM   Veteran male   50 – 59

VF   Veteran female   50 – 59

SVM   Super veteran male   60+

SVF   Super veteran female   60+

600m fun swim

8JM  Junior male   12 – 17

8JF   Junior female   12 – 17

80M   Male   18+

80F    Female   18+

Local resident    Must have permanent residential address in Bass Coast Shire

Age on day of event

Minimum competitor age is 15


Race time

10:00am for both swims.


On foreshore at respective start locations 15min before race start.


Race Centre (North Pier hotel) opens at 7:30am, and strictly closes at 9:30am. Here you will receive your timing bracelet and coloured swimming cap- the colour dictates which start wave you will be in. Bus transfers to the 1.2km race start will commence from 8:30am.

Participants will also receive a Race Pack which includes their Cowes Classic T-shirt and other goodies.


Available approximately 60 minutes after race finish.


Phillip Island Penguin Swim Classic boasts one of the largest pools of cash prizes and giveaways.

First male + female   $600 each

Second male + female   $250 each

Third senior + female   $100 each


  1. No extraneous aids are allowed. This includes, but is not limited to fins, boards, snorkels, flotation gear, and personal support teams.
  2. Wetsuits may be worn.
  3. Course Marshalls shall have authority to disqualify any competitors.
  4. Race officials shall have the ultimate and final authority to remove a competitor if the competitor is judged to be physically incapable of continuing the race without risk of injury.
  5. All competitors must adhere to the course as marked.
  6. Competitors will be required to have an official race number, and during the swim wear an official sponsor’s swim cap, provided upon registration.
  7. Organisers reserve the right to accept, reject, and cancel entries.
  8. The spirit of friendly competition should be maintained throughout the event. Any unsportsmanlike behaviour will be grounds for immediate disqualification.
  9. Only those participants who have trained and feel competent to complete the event should enter the event.
  10. We recommend wetsuits and goggles be worn by swimmers.
  11. Each competitor will be issued with a transponder (timing bracelet) which they will be required to wear at all times during the race. It is the responsibility of competitors to ensure the transponders are securely fastened to them prior to entering and exiting the water. Non-returned or lost transponders will incur a $100 replacement charge.


Overall 2017

Overall Winner: Brenton Ford

First Male: Brenton Ford

First Female: Isabell Robinson

First Junior Male: Robbe Dilissen

First Junior Female: Rebecca Henderson

First Senior Male: Matt Crook

First Senior Female: Debbi Mahon

First Mature Male: Marcus Bond

First Mature Female: Karin Reid

First Veteran Male: Aurel Wachter

First Veteran Female: Sue Lyon

First Super Veteran Male: Graham Travers

First Super Veteran Female: Marie Werrett

Local 2017

Overall Winner: Eliza Jeffs

First Junior Male: Shane Mackmill

First Junior Female: Eliza Jeffs

First Adult Male: Matthhew Rushworth

First Adult Female: Taya Murdoch

Bass Coast Series homepage